Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a CFP® and other financial advisors?

Many think that all financial planners are certified, but this isn’t true. What separates a Certified Financial Planner (CFP®) professional from other financial advisors is that CFP® professionals are trained and evaluated in six specialty areas to provide a comprehensive approach to financial planning. These areas are:

  • Retirement
  • Estate Planning
  • Taxes
  • Investments
  • Budgeting
  • Insurance

CFP®s have fulfilled the certification and renewal requirements of the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards (CFP Board), demonstrating a high level of competency, ethics, and professionalism. CFP®s must complete a rigorous educational curriculum at an approved college or university, pass the comprehensive CFP® exam, and have a minimum of three years of experience in the financial planning process. Because they are held to a fiduciary standard of care, a CFP® professional is required to act in your best interests.

More about the CFP® Certification

The CFP® certification is awarded by the CFP Board, which was founded in 1985 to serve the public interest “by promoting the value of professional, competent, and ethical financial planning services.” The CFP Board sets and enforces requirements and standards for certification, encompassing:

  • Education
  • Examination
  • Experience
  • Ethics

Many on our team at Geier Asset Management have earned the designation of Certified Financial Planner®.

Learn more from the CFP Board »